Cacti

I’m curious how do you develop a hobby or interests?

I believe there is no “how to-do-list” formula for this. You too, agree?

I just woke up one day and said to myself, “I’m gonna buy cactus today!” That was only  January of this year. And so I did and tadaaaannn….I’m now a succulents collector!

Believe me I don’t even know that this “specie” is generally called succulent ( jeez). I thought the name sounds like a perfume brand. Forgive me for my ignorance, this wasn’t taught in school or in any of my economics subjects ( lol)

Seriously that’s how I started collecting different kinds of succulents ( yea, I know now, right). I have six varieties to date , ‘though I said I should have at least one of its kind in every month, no pressure at all. But I have six and its only  March!  And I heard there are over 25 families of their kinds! ( omg!)

I don’t need to be a “green-thumbed” to plant or take care of these plants. To be honest I had attempted many times in planting– mints, flowers vegetables even, but I would always end up frustrated. These kind plants doesn’t need much of my  attention or time because cactus need not be watered everyday! They produces water on their own, thus watering them very often will instead  harm them.  They are also an outdoor type of plants although some would like to place them  indoors as ornaments in their living room, kitchen  or working table.

Hey! Not all cactus are succulents, though nearly all cacti are succulents . “In botany, succulent plants, also known as succulents or sometimes water storage plants, are plants that have some parts that are more than normally thickened and fleshy, usually to retain water in arid climates or soil conditions.” Wikipedia ( Thank you Wikipedia!)

And I am not really here to talk about cactus’ general aspect of life and existence, but to talk about how I developed my interest of collecting their type (^.^). I know there are plenty of sites out there that deals about “how-to-take-care-succulents”. I know because I am into them too, now that I am loving these collections!

My thought exactly? We can develop a hobby or become interested in some thing without premonitions or anything. We can just feel that certain kind of  “excitement” which becomes fulfilling especially when we realized our capacity to care and give importance to a hobby or to a thing…< wink!>

Leave a Reply

